I unearthed a dozen four paged letters from a creaky floorboard of the country house

It told tales of river baths, delighting in sugar cane & juicy East Indian mangoes

Donkey rides, dominoes & ludo while downing a cold beer

A colourful picture of lush greenery entered my mind, the faint smell of a mint bush came alive

I am sure I heard the guttural laughter of my relatives, & I smiled to myself

Destined to be torn down with a business erected in its place

That rusty brown board house birthed three generations – all with admirable qualities, & it ended with me

I’ll never forget that red dirt road

(2015)

Leave a Reply

