Wilderness

I  have to admit

I cringe when I see or hear the words “wilderness season”

I’d much rather be in a desert

It might be dry

At least life thrives there: cacti, desert sage, elephant trees – just to name a few

The wilderness  (n.) :a barren or desolate area

What can grow there? Nothing. What’s the point?

This was supposed to be a poem about loathing that season

For I believe I’m in it

Constantly begging Him for an exodus so that I can transition into a new genesis.

But now I remember that God can create something out of nothing

“Creation Ex Nihilo”

So why can’t I trust Him to get me out of the wilderness?

God, forgive me. Help me to wait.

Leave a Reply

